Kindle vs Physical Book

 

As the years go on, technology is forever evolving and becomes an integrative part of our lives. Do we get on the wagon or do we stay off and get left behind? So we all know in most cases we have to get on that wagon, right…

But if there is one thing that I cannot evolve with for some reason, is the Kindle. When it comes to books, I am old school. I prefer the actual physical book to a kindle. I love the feel and smell of a book. It is like a love affair to me. I mean it is great that the inventor, founder and CEO  of Amazon, Jeff Bezos, tried to keep the look of an actual book on the kindle but yet, it is not the same… I know the kindle has its many great benefits such as flexibility, portability, accessibility, space savings, free samples and maybe one of the greatest feature is note retrieval –  Amazon saves all your highlights and notes as you read a book along with their locations for you at a special password protected website. Once you finish reading the book, you can go to the website and easily access you’re your underlines and notes for that book and in order.

But my heart and soul craves to hold and read a physical book. Lock me up in a library or even a bookstore and I will be content.

And with all this said, will I go out of the way to buy a Kindle? Maybe not but if given a kindle as a gift, I will gladly accept it though 🙂

Image source here

12 thoughts on “Kindle vs Physical Book

  1. Same here. I’m still a sucker for a physical book. Especially an old book – the smell of an old book gives it so much character!
    I do own a kindle and as much as I thought that it would make the books fly out the window I still end up buying some of my favorite books in physical format.

  2. I think that a Kindle is a SUPPLEMENTAL reading material. I love my Kindle, it makes it so easy to borrow digital books from the library and I would never give it up! However, I go back and forth between physical books and my Kindle books. I probably read 1 Kindle book for every 4 paper books.

    • My friend has been trying to convince me to buy a kindle for ages, lol. My biggest fear was that the kindle will make me see less the inside of a library or bookstore… I still need a bit of convincing on this one though but I am not totally close up on the idea of buying myself a kindle 🙂

      • I just did a whole blog post about going to the library! I continue to visit the library, continue to buy physical books, and I also digitally read. I just get the benefit of being able to borrow from the digital library in addition to the others. I think that if you’re a true reader, you’ll use it as an addition, not as a replacement.

        • I read more physical books than what I use my kindle. You are right about being a true reader you’ll use it as an addition. I haven’t tried the borrow function yet! How does that work?

          • There are a few ways to borrow. Some websites offer borrowing like http://www.booklending.com, but I find that those sites take a long time for you to get what you actually want.

            If you have a library card, check out the online website of your library for their digital section. You could google your library and digital media. You should be able to find it. Then, you choose the books you want, sign in, and you either can get them wirelessly immediately or be put on a waiting list. They’ll email you when the book is ready. It takes you to an Amazon site and the book is sent to your Kindle or iPad.

            They walk you through it on the website, too.

            And as a hint, if you’re reading on the Kindle and aren’t finished with the checked-out book, turn off your wi-fi and they can’t take it back until you turn the wi-fi back on! 🙂

  3. My friend has been trying to convince me to buy a kindle for ages, lol. My biggest fear was that the kindle will make me see less the inside of a library or bookstore… I still need a bit of convincing on this one though but I am not totally close up on the idea of buying myself a kindle 🙂

  4. Pingback: Taking books and reading to another level – IDEO’s future for books | Book Shelves & Window Seats

  5. We are so alike! I totally agree with everything you said, however when my Dad was trying to work out what to get me one christmas, he suggested an e-reader and I actually told him that i’d really prefer he didn’t get me one. Might be ungrateful but I just love real books, and I’d rather him spend the money on 10 books than on an e-reader!

    I think if I was travelling a lot around the world then I might use one, but until then it’s the trusty physical book for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

