The Confession by John Grisham

Grisham did it again!! He delivered another brilliant novel. This novel reminded me as to why I love reading crime thrillers so much. The edge, the mystery and the strong urge of curiosity to know what happens next will make you not want to sleep before finishing this novel. That is exactly what happened to me.

The Confession

The Confession took me on an emotional roller-coaster ride. In the start of the story I was excited because I became very aware that this story was going to be worth it then I became furious at one point, at another point a feeling of disbelief washed over me then anxiousness took over and halfway through I was sad and close to the end I felt a mixture of sadness, anger, disgust and a touch of relieve. So just imagine how emotionally exhausted I felt when I finish this novel. The hard copy contains 418 pages which I basically finished in 1 day.

The characters had real depth in them and I could easily relate. There were a bunch of favourite characters and more than one main character. The story was so intense, it kept me on edge. I felt actually sad that the novel was coming to an end.

This novel is definitely worth your time and sleepless night(s).

Synopsis on the inside of the jacket cover:

Travis Boyette is a murder. In 1998, in the small East Texas city of Sloan, he abducted, raped and strangled a popular high-school cheerleader. He buried her body so that it would never be found, then watched and waited as police and prosecutors arrested Donte Drumm, a local football star with no connection to the crime. Tried, convicted and sentenced, Drumm was sent to death row: his fate has been decided.

Nine years later, Donte Drumm is four days from execution. Over 400 miles away in Kansas, Travis faces a fate of his own: an inoperable brain tumor will soon deliver the end. Reflecting on his miserable life, he decides to do what’s right. After years of silence he is ready to confess.

But how can a guilty man convince lawyers, judges and politicians that they’re about to execute an innocent man?

What the media has to say about Grisham:

“The best thriller writer alive” – Evening Standard

“No one does it better than Grisham” – Daily Telegraph

“His stories are ferociously plot-driven. They will keep you awake all night” – Independent on Sunday

6 thoughts on “The Confession by John Grisham

  1. I am definitely going to start reading crime thrillers and legal thrillers! {your last 3 posts are about them, so there must be something addictive about them} I do remember reading 2 or 3 legal thrillers and I did enjoy it but I cant remember the names.

    PS: I loved your intro to this review. I always prefer to read a person’s thoughts about a book and how they perceived it… the experience. I appreciate that more than what I do when people just write me an overview. So I think this is a good “review” – it gives me a short sypnosis of what the book is about but more importantly it tells me how much you enjoyed/loved/didn’t like the book. Do you own this book? If so, give it to me to read 🙂

    • Thanks for your lovely feedback. Crime and legal thrillers are really good. Grisham is exceptional. Unfortunately I have borrowed this book from the library so I do not own it but I definitely should consider getting it for my “collection” I love the type of thrillers whereby it is hard to put the book down but and you feel like you on an adrenalin rush 🙂

Leave a Reply

