4th of July by James Patterson

In this novel, the main character, Lindsay Boxer, becomes a victim of crime. But due to moral and political issues, Lindsay has to “bear the brunt” which I think was totally unfair, for being a victim.

4th-of-July

When the murders get described in the novel, I thought of it to be senseless and then I started picking up a behavior from the murderer as to how the victims get killed. I figured that the killer might have been abused at some stage which I happened to be half right. Also, I could understand why the murder picked out his specific victims but it does not justify the killings one bit. Honestly, I almost felt sorry for the murderer for a moment as I thought the murderer to have a psychological problem due to past events.

I had my suspicion on a character which I also happen to be half right about but I did not expect the ending part of the story to turn out the way it did, I did not even see it coming. In other words, the storyline was not really that predictable.

The storyline did drag a little bit for me but still it was not the slightest bit boring as it kept me thinking and kept me captivated. I could not wait to see how the story will end. I had to fight the urge not to go and read the last chapter and continue again from where I stopped.

I think for me from all the Patterson novels, this one was the least chilling. I think it was sad in a way due to the justice system failing the killer but as I said, it gives no one the right to kill another human being. Overall I really enjoyed reading this novel and I would definitely recommend it.

Publishers Write-Up:

In a late-night showdown after a near-fatal chase, San Francisco Police Lieutenant Lindsay Boxer has to make an instantaneous decision: in self-defence, she fires her weapon – and sets off a chain of event that leaves a police force disgraced, an entire city divided and a family destroyed. Now everything she’s worked for her entire life hinges on the decision of twelve jurors.

To escape scrutiny during breaks from her trial, Lindsay retreats to the picturesque town of Half Moon Bay. But soon after her arrival, a string of grisly murders punches through the peaceful community. There are no witnesses. There is no discernible pattern. But a key detail reminds Lindsay of a case she worked on as a rookie years before – an unsolved murder that has haunted her ever since. As summer comes into full swing, Lindsay and her friends in the Women’s Murder Club battle for her life on two fronts: before a judge and jury as her trial comes to a climax, and facing unknown adversaries who will do anything to keep her from the truth about the killings – including killing again.

What the media had to say about James Patterson:

“Brilliantly terrifying…so terrifying I had to stay up all night to finish it” – Daily Mail

“Unputdownable” – The Times

“In a word: thrilling” – Herald Sun, Melbourne, Australia

“Awesome” – Independent on Sunday

“A fine writer with a good ear for dialogue and pacing. His books are always page-turners” – Washing Times

8 thoughts on “4th of July by James Patterson

  1. You really are a crime thriller addict 😉
    Thanks for the review and here we can see clearly that when doing book covers or publishing media comments, they always print the good ones, never the bad… (This is now assuming the caption “what the media had to say” is about this book specifically). Am i right in saying, even though you enjoyed the book it was not “thriller” or “Awesome” ?

    However I do know James Patterson is a brilliant author of crime novels and I am glad I have you to tell me which ones I should or shouldn’t read. I promise I will get to your “list” 🙂

    Dankie vir die review, meisie 🙂

    • You are right in saying that even though I did enjoy the book, however it was not as awesome as his other novels. But it was not an entire waste of my reading time as I plan to read all the books in the Women’s Murder Club Series regardless.

      Goodreads emailed me today to tell me 12th of Never is being released on the 14th of February 2013. I can’t actually wait but I have only read 4th of July, The 6th Target, 7th Heaven and 10th Anniversary. I still need to read 1-3, 5,9 and 11…

      The “what the media has to say” is not just specifically related to the book but to the author himself as well.

      I am gonna read about 3 more crime novels and I have about 2 reviews (10th Anniversary and Genesis) that I need to post. Then I am gonna change “genre” but it is difficult staying away from crime/thriller novels lol. I think I am gonna target novels based on true stories next 🙂

  2. Yes I’m like that too. When i start with a series, I tend to finish it.
    I assumed you’re “what the media has to say” is about the book in particular and not the author. Ok so that section is not media comments about the book you reviewing above.

    I find that with some books when they publish the media comments they pick out the best and for all we know that those 4 that they publish on the book covers, there could be 96 bad ones 😉

    Books are very subjective, it all depends on who reads them.

    • True like the saying goes… “Different strokes for different folks”

      However, if you are familiar with the author then I am sure you can’t be easily persuaded by what the media say and by then you would have at least know whether the person is an author of high calibre w.r.t. to the novels they have produced and then you can safely make your own assumptions…

  3. I never listen or read the media’s comments – I want to experience the book for myself. I do read sypnosis yes. That’s why we are book bloggers right? 🙂

  4. Pingback: 1st to Die by James Patterson | Book Shelves & Window Seats

  5. Pingback: The 5th Horseman by James Patterson | Book Shelves & Window Seats

Leave a Reply

