Genesis by Karin Slaughter

“Someone had spent time with her –someone well-practiced in the art of pain…”

Genesis-Karin-Slaughter

First of all I have to say that this novel is utterly chilling. The crime scenes are really horrific and what the victims had to suffer through were terrifying and sickening. I actually felt nausea rise up in me just by reading what the murder/psycho were doing to these women. A psycho who was using the bible and twisting it to suit and justify whatever this psycho wanted to do to the victims.  I know the novel is fictional but I know of real life stories where women/victims went through similar experiences and you ask yourself do you really get such sick people who can actually hurt another human being in such a terrible way just for the fun of it?? The psycho locks the women up in a torture chamber and then starves them, removes body parts from them, tortures them, blinds them, etc. I will not say more as I do not want to give away any spoilers…

The storyline was complex and compelling and brilliantly written, building up a climax that totally blows you away closer to the end. In no way could I figure out who the culprit was, I could not even build myself a “mental suspect list” as  I could not collect enough evidence from what I was reading, for the first time… So as the reader, I was kept in the dark till the very end. However, I was mentally encouraging and willing the detectives in the novel to actually find the killer and get in time to save the next victims because I didn’t think I could read another gruesome scene of how the victims were murdered or what was done to them.

Each character had their own agenda and own personal problems they were going through which makes it relatable to us as human beings as it is problems that you will find that some of us are going through or have experience  with or some of us gets affected with and some of us has to deal with on a daily basis. It made the characters more human and gave them more character.

The author did a great job by delivering yet another  great fictional novel that was a page turner.

Synopsis:

Three and a half years ago former Grant County medical examiner Sara Linton moved to Atlanta hoping to leave her tragic past behind her. Now working as a doctor in Atlanta’s Grady Hospital she is starting to piece her life together. But when a severely wounded young woman is brought in to the emergency room, she finds herself drawn back into the world of violence and terror. The woman has been hit by a car but, naked and brutalized, it’s clear that she has been the prey of a twisted mind.

When Special Agent Will Trent of the Criminal Investigation Team returns to the scene of the accident, he stumbles on a torture chamber buried deep beneath the earth. And this hidden house of horror reveals a ghastly truth – Sara’s patient is just the first victim of a sick, sadistic killer. Wrestling the case away from the local police chief, Will and his partner Faith Mitchell find themselves at the centre of a grisly murder hunt. And Sara, Will and Faith – each with their own wounds and their own secrets – are the only thing that stands between a madman and his next crime.

5 thoughts on “Genesis by Karin Slaughter

  1. beautiful review! However I would be too scared to read this 😐 I want to read Let the Right One In, but I keep postponing it because its so gruesome 😦

    • Thanks Mel 🙂 This novel is not so scary but more gruesome. I can remember a few scenes in the novels where I couldn’t help but too scratch the skin on my arms when I read a certain part when one of the victims were found. It was just horrible. Let the right one is a vampire fiction right? I will make a note of reading it some time.

  2. Pingback: Blindsighted by Karin Slaughter | Book Shelves & Window Seats

Leave a Reply

