The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks

bookshelves and windowseats

The Notebook is one of my ultimate favourite love stories. I actually watched the movie first before reading the book and I have to admit though that I really loved the movie more than the book. Well, this doesn’t mean I did not love the book, I loved it too. The reason I love the movie more, which rarely happens, is because the movie actually gives you more details I think that could have been fundamental for the book.

The Notebook is an achingly tender story about the enduring power of love, a story of miracles that will stay with you forever – Excerpt on the inside jacket cover.

The novel opens up with Noah Calhoun – the main male character- as an old man, reading a well-worn notebook. Then we get taken back in time where the story shows us Noah who recently returned from World War 2 and starts restoring a plantation home to what is was before it became dilapidated. We learnt that Noah fell in love with a girl named Allie Nelson about fourteen years earlier and still happens to be in love with her. The movie opens up with Noah as an old man reading and it shows us back about fourteen years when Noah and Allie met then it shows us the paths their lives took fourteen years later and how they reunite again and in between the movie it goes back into the present to Noah as an old man. We get to see the story from Noah’s point of view, both in the novel and movie.

So after fourteen years of no contact, Allie discovers that Noah has restored the old house from a newspaper article. It happened to be the house they made love in and for both, it was their first time, as well as the house he promised that one day he would buy for her. For Allie, she felt that she had “unfinished” business in New Bern, North Carolina as she left Noah without looking back  out of respect for her family.

She then decides to go to New Bern to go see Noah. Noah discovers that Allie is engaged and about to get married in a few weeks’ time. Allie also realizes that her feelings and passion for Noah has never dimmed with the passage of time. She also discovers that Noah has written Allie letters for two years and all along she never received them as her mother was the one who kept the letters hidden from Allie. And what they both realize is that the obstacles that prevented them from being together fourteen years ago, still remains.

Then against all odds they end up back together. As the reader, we get taken into the present with Noah and Allie as old people with grandchildren and an unfortunate ailment has befallen Allie, yet again Noah ends up fighting for Allie, fighting for what they were, what made them what they have become – a deeply moving portrait of love.

I have to say though, I love the book’s ending way better than the movie’s ending but I must confess that the movie’s ending was more epic and dramatic. I will not discuss the ending any further because then I will give away a HUGE spoiler. I am also hoping I did not give away too much with this review.

Just as the movie had me crying for this love story, so has the book. Nicholas Sparks just knew how to portray one of the best love stories ever been told with just the right tender moments and moving scenes that affects us all as affectionate human beings. According to Sparks, he based this novel on his wife’s grandparents – “beloved grandparents” as he puts it. This is a definite must read!! But I would also encourage anyone to watch the movie as well.

Which is your favourite love story of all times?

19 thoughts on “The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks

  1. The Notebook is one of my favourite movies! I also read the book after watching the movie (numerous times). I read it during my Dec holiday trip. It’s a short read and I enjoyed it because I could picture the main characters (Rachel & Ryan). Like you, I like the movie more 🙂

  2. To answer your last question – The Notebook is my favourite love story of all times. Second probably Titanic. Mostly because of the movies, because I don’t read romance novels often….

  3. Gone With the Wind is my all-time favorite!
    Have you read other Nicholas Sparks’ books? I’ve read a few, but after a while they all started to feel the same. Maybe I’ll give this one a try. Your review makes it very enticing.

    • Hi Gwen 🙂 I am glad my review is appealing. I read Gone With the Wind when I was younger. Honestly, I haven’t read any other Nicholas Sparks’ books but I have watched movies based on his books (Safe Haven, The Lucky One, Message in a Bottle, A Walk to Remember, The Last Song, Dear John, Nights in Rodanthe ). I guess the main concept of his books are all the same, some kind of love story. But The Notebook is about real epic love. You should definitely give it a try.

  4. I really loved the movie but hesitate to read the book because I know the bittersweet ending … Thanks for reviewing the book, I am going to summon some courage and read it.

    • It was my pleasure. You should read it seeing that you loved the movie and it is a quick read, took me a couple of hours to read. As I said, I do love the movie more but the book is just as beautiful.

  5. I’m not a “love story” type of person. I actually LOVED The Song of Achilles as a love story (unconventional since it’s between 2 men).

    On a side note, when I taught 5th grade, I had a couple students who “forced” me to read a Nicholas Sparks book. It was actually pretty good! I was surprised.

    • I heard about The Song of Achilles but never actually read it. You wrote a review on it last year (Will need to check out your review). I should maybe put it on my TBR list (my TBR list is my worst nightmare lol).

      Sounds like something 5th graders would do 🙂 What book was it?

  6. Pingback: Its Monday! What are you reading? | Book Shelves & Window Seats

Leave a Reply

