Haunted Ground by Erin Hart

bookshelves and windowseats

The McGann brothers discover the head of a woman while cutting turf. The head belongs to a woman of centuries before. The local police then get called in. Cormac Maguire, an archaeologist as well as American pathologist, Nora Gavin gets called to the scene as well. They then make it their mission to find out what happened to this woman to suffer such as a brutal death.

Hugh Osborne’s (a local landowner) wife and two year old son have disappeared two years ago and without a trace. Garett Devaney, an ex-detective, quietly reopens the Osborne case. One by one deeper layers of secrets are revealed and past deaths could translate into future murders.

The story was quite complex as it had a number of subplots. But the author tells the story beautifully and never confused me as the reader. The characters were quite developed and all played an important role throughout the story.

Ireland gets beautifully described which makes me fall in love with the place as well as I could envision the place clearly with the way Hart describes it. The plot is quite good and believable.

As the story unfolds, we learn what happened to Hugh Osborne’s wife and son. I almost wished that the author could have written that part of the story differently but then I realised the novel would have been boring and lost the whole plot as well as it would not have been worth reading it. There is a part of the story that is very sad (it has something to do with Hugh’s nephew, cousin, wife and son but I am not giving away any spoilers) and I could connect to it emotionally. I really enjoyed reading this novel. Also it was my first Erin Hart novel.

8 thoughts on “Haunted Ground by Erin Hart

    • Hi Nina, thanks for stopping by 🙂 Yes it was, not your normal fast paced thriller kind of novels but a great novel all in all with a little bit of a psychological twist. You will definitely like it.

  1. I loved this book! I read it years ago and it really stayed with me. I have Erin’s second book, but have not got around to reading it. Your review reminds me that I need to do that. Great review, Celeste.

    Your blog is so pretty!

  2. Hi Michelle, thank you for you lovely comments. You put a smile on my face 🙂 You should give me the title of the book. I would actually read more Erin Hart books because of Haunted Grounds.

    • You’re welcome, Celeste! Actually, she has written four books, her newest was released in March. They are called the “Nora Gavin” series. The titles are Lake of Sorrows (Book 2), False Mermaid (Book 3), and The Book of Killowen (Book 4). I own Lake of Sorrows, but still have to get my hands on the other two. I look forward to hearing what you thought of the others when you read them. 🙂

  3. Lovely review! As for late, I’m really enjoying reading crime fiction, this sure sounds right up my alley. I also love books that features beautiful descriptions of the setting, one of the many things that helps you drift more deeper into the story. WIll check it out on Goodreads.

    • You definitely should, i was thinking of you when I read the book, especially when the author describes the scenery. You know I’m addicted to crime novels lol.

Leave a Reply

